Session Id Missing From Url Turnitin Assignments

Here are some suggestions for staff marking student work using Turnitin Feedback Studio, in case you encounter any technical issues.

Very occasionally, you might find that

  • you are not able to save comments
  • you are not able to open previously saved comments
  • the Feedback Studio screen freezes.

If you do experience any of these problems, we believe that the simplest way to resolve them is to switch back to the old Turnitin interface, ‘Turnitin Classic’.

There is a link to do this at the bottom of the Feedback Studio window.

(for more detail see our Feedback Studio User Guide)

 

You may also be able to avoid problems with the Feedback Studio by clearing your browser cache:

IE11
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/17438/windows-internet-explorer-view-delete-browsing-history
Chrome
https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/32050?hl=en
Firefox
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-clear-firefox-cache
Safari
https://kb.wisc.edu/page.php?id=45060

 

Finally, these issues may be related to Turnitin’s 60-minute timeout.

A Turnitin user session will not remain active indefinitely…

NOTE: The issue described below has now been resolved by an update to the way the 60 minute timeout is detected. See update to timeout settings

If the Turnitin window in Blackboard Learn (see image below) does not detect user activity, the user session will automatically timeout after 60 minutes.

Therefore, if you have spent almost an hour on marking a single paper, we would recommend that you close the marking window, return to the Turnitin assignment inbox and refresh it, before the 60 minute period runs out.

Please note that typing into a dialog box or scrolling through a submission in the Feedback Studio is not recognised as user activity. Again, we would advise staff to close the Feedback Studio window between scripts – and within the 1 hour window – to ensure work is not lost.

Please note that it is also possible for the session to time out if you have multiple Turnitin windows (or tabs) open at once. The timer will be running for each Turnitin window or tab you have open. If the timer runs out on one window (or tab) you will be logged out of ALL Turnitin sessions, even if one window was being actively used.

(many thanks to the Edinburgh University Digital Learning Applications and Media team for advice on timeout issues)

 

If you do experience issues, please log them with it@reading.ac.uk providing as many details as possible about the circumstances in which the error occurred.

 

Like this:

LikeLoading...

This entry was posted in Assessment, Turnitin and tagged Assessment, e-Marking, Known Issues, Turnitin. Bookmark the permalink.

Creating a Class

 

The creation of a class or classes on the Turnitin system is the first step in allowing an instructor and students to access and use the services available at their institution. Most instructor and student activity on Turnitin occurs within the class or classes created by an instructor.


The class is used by the instructor to organize students and student submissions into groups. A single class may be used for multiple courses, but is typically not recommended due to the additional challenges this can create in organization. A class and its assignments are fully available to the instructor between the date of the class creation and the selected expiration date. Once a class has expired, the information and assignments in the class are viewable, but no new submissions or assignments may be made. The instructor is capable of extending the expired class to reactivate it. 


New classes should be created each semester or school year when a new group of students is in a course. Assignments can be easily imported to a new class using the directions under the Libraries section of this user guide. This allows users to easily add assignment sets in a new course.

 

1. Click the Add Class button on your instructor homepage

 

 

2. On the next screen, enter the following information: 
 

  • Class name
  • Enrollment key 
  • Subject area(s) e.g. science
  • Student level(s) e.g. postgraduate

 

 

Note: Your class name should be between 2 and 300 characters long

 

Note: You should not share your enrollment key publicly outside of your institution. With a Class ID and key anyone, at any institution, will be able to join your class. 

 

3. Select the end date for the class. Once the end date has passed, the class will not be accessible for submissions unless the class is reactivated.

 

 

4. Click submit to add the class. Class information will be displayed in a pop-up window containing the ID and enrollment key for confirmation

 

Training Video: Creating a Class

 

Expired Classes

 

Every class created on Turnitin has an end date. When the end date is reached, the class expires and is limited to read-only access and will no longer appear on the active classes list. The students and instructor will no longer be able to submit papers or peer reviews, create assignments, or mark any of the papers using GradeMark. 


To view expired classes only, click on the Expired classes tab on the Turnitin instructor homepage. The All Classes tab, to the left of the Expired Classes tab, will list both active and expired classes.

 

Reactivating an Expired Class

 

An expired class can be only reactivated by the instructor. The edit icon can be used to reactivate the course by giving it a new end date. The instructor can change the end date of the class from the class update screen. Once the end date has been changed, the instructor must click on submit to save the new end date and reactivate the class.

Copying a Class


Turnitin allows instructors to easily copy classes for reuse in another semester or year. When a class is copied the instructor is prompted to enter a new class name, enrollment key, and the start date for the first assignment in the class. The remaining assignment and discussion dates for the class will automatically be set based on the start date you set for this assignment.

 

1. Click on the class copy icon to the right of the class name

 

 

2. On the next screen, edit the following information: 

 

  • Class name
  • Enrollment key

 

3. Select the start date and time for the first assignment for the class

 

 

4. Click Save to copy the class or Cancel to abort the process

 

 

5. You will then be directed to the copied class' page, where you can review the dates for the assignments in the copied class. Edit any assignment dates by clicking on the More actions link to the right of the assignment, and then select Edit settings from the drop-down menu.

 

0 thoughts on “Session Id Missing From Url Turnitin Assignments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *